News Ticker


Senator Hoeven Receives Energy Champion Award

Senator John Hoeven and EERC CEO Tom Erickson
The University of North Dakota Energy & Environmental Research Center (EERC) presented its Energy Champion Award to the Honorable John Hoeven, U.S. Senator from North Dakota, on August 21, 2017. The presentation and a reception were held at the EERC on August 21 from 1:00 to 2:30 p.m.  

Senator Hoeven’s leadership, vision, and commitment to the state of North Dakota and to its energy industry throughout his career have kept North Dakota at the forefront of energy development nationwide. He was instrumental in the state being granted regulatory authority over carbon dioxide wells, known as Class VI wells, which will help advance carbon capture and sequestration technology.

"Senator Hoeven has been a true champion of energy development in North Dakota," said Tom Erickson, EERC CEO. "This award is in recognition for his tireless dedication at the state and national level for advancing all forms of energy."

"Through its work to help produce more energy with greater efficiency, the EERC is helping to advance the long-term energy security of our nation," Hoeven said. "The EERC continues to develop important initiatives like carbon capture and storage technology which will help North Dakota's energy industry produce affordable, reliable energy for many years to come. I am grateful to work with the EERC to support energy development in North Dakota and throughout our nation, and I am honored to receive this award." 

The Energy Champion Award was created in 1986 to honor individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary personal commitment to energy and environmental research and development. Senator Hoeven is the tenth recipient of the award. Past recipients are Michael Jones, Senator Byron Dorgan, Thomas Bechtel, Everett Sondreal, Thomas Clifford, Senator Kent Conrad, John McFarlane, Conrad Aas, and Senator Mark Andrews. 

Photos from the event are available here:

Left to right: Lignite Energy Council President and CEO Jason Bohrer, North Dakota Petroleum Council President Ron Ness, EERC Vice President for Strategic Partnerships John Harju, Senator Hoeven, UND President Mark Kennedy, and EERC CEO Tom Erickson. 

EPA Administrator Pruitt visits EERC

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Scott Pruitt, U.S. Senator John Hoeven, North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum, and EERC CEO Tom Erickson. Photo by Kari Suedel.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator, Scott Pruitt, stopped at the Energy & Environmental Research Center (EERC) on August 9. EERC leadership staff provided a brief tour of the facility. The group discussed the carbon capture work occurring at the EERC and the need for driving down the cost of carbon capture technology. They also discussed the state-of-the-art equipment and analysis in the Natural Materials Analytical Research Laboratory at the EERC and how this fundamental scientific work is unlocking the potential in the Bakken formation.

Mr. Pruitt's visit included a roundtable discussion, where he heard remarks from North Dakota energy and environment leaders, as well as lawmakers. Governor Doug Burgum, U.S. Senator John Hoeven, and U.S. Congressman Kevin Cramer were also in attendance. Mr. Pruitt's visit to North Dakota was coordinated through the Office of the Governor as part of the Environmental Protection Agency's State Action Tour. 

Photos from the event are available on the EERC's Flickr site:

New Resource: North Dakota's Energy Future

North Dakota has a strong team of industry partners, state organizations, and universities dedicated to a more prosperous, cleaner, and brighter energy future. We are working with regional partners to advance technology to support an all-of-the-above approach to energy production, developing more synergies between energy and agriculture and a stronger, value-added approach to resources. Our new resource, "North Dakota's Energy Future," details seven goals developed as an outcome of our 2nd Annual Partnership Summit, which was held in June.

Download and print your own copy of "North Dakota's Energy Future" or contact EERC Communications Director Nikki Massmann for a digital copy.

Nikki Massmann, 701.777.5428,